In Need of Prayer Itself

IMG_0605

The other morning I woke up and didn’t want to do it. That is, life. I didn’t want to perform my domestic duties, take care of Sayla. It was raining and I dreaded a day stuck inside trying to entertain a toddler. I didn’t want to cut her peanut-butter-banana toast into fifteen tiny pieces. I felt stressed about editing the last two papers sent to me, finishing the homework for my yoga training, Erik’s physics final, what to blog about.

As I’ve mentioned before, I have a tendency to turn silent when I feel stressed. Even with God. It takes a concerted effort on my part to break the quiet streak. And so that morning I prayed. I began to number my worries to God, putting one word in front of the other, asking for the strength to get through the day. This is the day that you have made, Lord; I am to rejoice and be glad, but right now I don’t know how to do that. With each sentence offered I felt more settled. Soon I wasn’t so blah. The fog lifted.

So how did my day end up? I did the dishes, a load of laundry, cut food into bite-sized pieces. Sayla and I danced. I did yoga. She played on the porch with buckets of water. I edited those papers, studied my yoga material. The sun came out and we played outside. I figured out what to blog about. Erik finished his physics final. The Lord addressed every single concern I had. Not one thing was left undone.

I tell you this not because you care about my lack of motivation, but that you may be encouraged to pray, that in face of any anxiety, too great or too small, you would lift up your voice to God and make your requests known. When we do this, He promises to give us peace, His peace, completely beyond our grasp or understanding. He will guard our hearts and minds from the heaviness of the world, uplifting us in Christ Jesus (Philippians 4:6-7).

God desires to commune with us, to co-habitate. When we pray we invite Him into the corners of our hearts. Each word we utter testifies of our need for Him. When we pour out our hearts to Him, we acknowledge that He is our refuge and our strength, that we look to Him for help. Prayer becomes a way to live out the gospel, of saying “we are broken and in need of you, God; may you heal and restore us!

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. 1 Thessalonians 5:14

Leave a Reply

