Holy Yoga

holy yoga

Yoga: to join or yoke together, to be in unity
Holy: to be set apart, dedicated or consecrated to God

About five years ago God placed in my heart the desire to teach Christ-centered yoga. A burning, like I needed to do it right then. Few times have I felt this sense of urgency.

I sought out local churches to grant me space to teach. I began brainstorming ideas for a logo, talking with a friend who could design something for me. I dived head first because I felt I had to. I didn’t want to brush off His calling, to disobey.

But nothing came of it. Churches either didn’t respond or wouldn’t let me host a class there. That friend never got around to designing the logo. Doors were not opening and so I yeilded. I trusted that God would prepare the way at the right time, I just needed to remain open and willing to whenever that was.

And here I am now, years later, two weeks into my teacher training program with Holy Yoga. Holy Yoga is designed to deepen one’s conection to Christ through experiential worship, through integrating God’s Word, prayer, and worship into the physical practice of yoga. An invitation for everyone (believers and non-believers alike) to authentically connect with God.

I don’t know what God has in store for me, how my training will be used and where/who I will teach, but I know that He has called me, He has led me to this program to equip me, and He will complete whatever work through me that He desires.

It’s not very often (at least in my life) that something feels ordained, divinely appointed. Usually questioning and doubt lurk behind many a decision I’ve had to make, uncertain what the will of God is. But this training—this path toward Christ-centered yoga He is leading me on—is different, one of those special times in life when you know you are doing exactly what you’re supposed to be doing.

Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind. Luke 10:27

2 thoughts on “Holy Yoga

Leave a Reply

