Things I would tell my mom, Vol. 1

Bananas

My mom used to call me and tell me what she ate for breakfast that morning, or what outfit she was wearing, or what she heard on Good Morning America. She was happy to share every insignificant detail of her day, and I was amused to listen. Now I wish I had someone like her to share the little things with. The trivial details that compose our lives, yet somehow give it meaning.

  1. I wear patchouli now, tunisian patchouli to be exact. It started with a patchouli body lotion I decided to try out, and I loved the scent; kind of like cedar, earthy. If you were still here we could both wear patchouli around town and waft people with our hippie smells.
  2. I’m digging the long hair/ponytail look on men. I know, I fought you on this for years, exclaiming disgust. But something has changed over the past few years, and now I’m converted. Perhaps it is an acquired taste, like beer or mushrooms. I secretly wish Erik rocked a man bun.
  3. I no longer eat 20-something bananas a week. I’m down to a normal amount for an average-sized adult female. (There was a time several years back when I experimented with a raw foods diet, which lent itself to my eating lots of bananas due to them being an easy snack and affordable. I was eating about 3 or 4 bananas a day, and my mom was tickled at the thought of me consuming over 20 bananas a week).
Leave a Reply

